Draft letter
RAND SPIVEY LLP
202 First Street
Northport, Columbia
February 25, 2020
Martin Chan
Allen & Proctor LLP
Three Emerson Center
Northport, Columbia
Re: Western Insurance Company v. SecureTrade, Inc.
Dear Mr. Chan:
Western Insurance Company will not voluntarily submit its fraud claim to the pending Assurance–SecureTrade arbitration. Your February 20 letter misreads Tuscany Builders v. Norman Properties (Columbia Supreme Court 2011) and overlooks the separate agreements on which the two proceedings rest. Under Tuscany, a motion to compel Western to arbitrate this claim would be denied. The reasons are set out below so that you may accurately present Western's position if SecureTrade nevertheless files a motion.
1. Western did not agree to arbitrate this dispute
Tuscany recognizes Columbia's strong policy favoring arbitration but begins from the principle that arbitration depends on contract. That policy does not dispense with agreement or establish an independent power to compel any commercially related party to arbitrate. A nonsignatory can be bound through a recognized equitable-estoppel exception, but the particular requirements of that exception must be established.
The Brokerage & Administration Agreement was made by Assurance and SecureTrade. Western did not sign it. The Insurance Policy was made separately by Western and SecureTrade and contains no arbitration clause. Assurance's undertaking to procure insurance and administer aspects of claims and Western's undertaking to insure SecureTrade accordingly arose under different contracts with different parties.
The existing order compelling Assurance to arbitrate reflects Assurance's agreement to the arbitration clause in its own contract. Assurance's action alleged breach of that agreement. Western's action instead alleges fraud concerning its Insurance Policy. That difference is essential, not a matter of selecting a different label for the same contractual claim. No fact identified in your letter establishes that Western agreed to arbitrate its policy-related claim or that the order against Assurance determines Western's separate rights.
2. Tuscany's intertwined-claims analysis does not create the rule your letter proposes
Your letter suggests that related proceedings and a preexisting affiliation automatically require arbitration. Tuscany does not adopt that test. Its first question concerned a nonsignatory defendant seeking to compel a signatory plaintiff to arbitrate. Because that plaintiff had agreed to an arbitration clause, it could not avoid its promise simply by suing a nonsignatory on claims dependent on the rights and duties of the contract containing the clause.
Western occupies the opposite position. It is not a signatory to the Brokerage & Administration Agreement. SecureTrade is the signatory attempting to compel a nonsignatory. Tuscany expressly discusses the settled direct-benefit rule governing that situation. It does not authorize treating Western as though it had signed merely because SecureTrade signed a different contract with Western's affiliate.
Even in the intertwined-claims discussion, Tuscany requires more than overlapping facts or a common commercial project. It connects the claims to rights or duties under the particular contract containing the arbitration clause. An action is not subject to arbitration simply because it has some connection to an arbitration already underway. Your formulation substitutes a relationship between proceedings for the required relationship between the asserted claim and the agreement to arbitrate.
Western's complaint concerns SecureTrade's representations that it complied with claims-handling duties under the Insurance Policy, reasonably determined that more than 17,000 consumers presented valid claims totaling more than $36 million, and certified in good faith that Western was responsible for those claims. Western alleges that those representations were knowingly false, were intended to induce reliance, did induce reasonable reliance, and caused at least $36 million in harm. Those allegations identify Western's own policy transaction and SecureTrade's alleged fraud toward Western. They do not ask that Western receive damages for breach of Assurance's separate agreement.
The two contractual arrangements plainly are commercially connected: Assurance procured the policy and had administrative responsibilities associated with the warranty business. Western does not dispute that connection. But commercial connection does not establish that Western is enforcing rights granted by the Brokerage & Administration Agreement. Its fraud claim does not depend on a right to recover for breach of that agreement, whether as a signatory or third-party beneficiary.
3. Affiliation is not the adopted direct-benefit test
Tuscany considered a second situation in which a nonsignatory sought to compel another nonsignatory. In doing so, it explained the direct-benefit requirement and its relationship to the settled rule for a signatory's attempt to compel a nonsignatory. The critical inquiry is whether the nonsignatory seeks or obtains a direct benefit from the contract containing the arbitration provision, such as by effectively suing to recover for its breach.
The opinion also acknowledged statements in other jurisdictions suggesting that a preexisting relationship with a signatory might establish the necessary benefit. But it described those statements as dictum and expressly declined to determine whether they were sound. It emphasized the nonsignatory's conduct in effectively suing on the contract, rather than the nonsignatory's factual or legal relationship with a signatory.
Western and Assurance are affiliates. That identifies a relationship; it does not establish that Western invoked the Brokerage & Administration Agreement or obtained a right to recover under it. Tuscany does not allow a court to replace the direct-benefit inquiry with a corporate-family label. Nor does our firm's representation of both entities transform the two corporate clients into a single contracting party. Your letter supplies no separate basis for disregarding their distinct identities or treating Assurance's arbitration promise as Western's own.
The proposed rule also would disregard Tuscany's reason for treating nonsignatories carefully. A party that chooses a contract with an arbitration clause may foresee arbitration involving some nonsignatories on claims covered by that contract. A party that never made that choice cannot be subjected to arbitration merely because related entities entered a related commercial arrangement. Equitable estoppel addresses inconsistent reliance on a contract's benefits, not association in the abstract.
4. The premium was a benefit under the Insurance Policy, not the arbitration agreement
Your alternative argument alters Tuscany's requirement in a second way. You contend that Western obtained a direct benefit from SecureTrade, which is a signatory to the Brokerage & Administration Agreement, because Western received an insurance premium. Tuscany asks about a benefit from the contract containing the arbitration clause. It does not say that every benefit received from a person who signed that contract is sufficient.
SecureTrade paid Western a premium under the Insurance Policy in exchange for the coverage Western provided. That transaction has its own source and consideration. Western did not receive the premium as payment for enforcing Assurance's contractual rights under the Brokerage & Administration Agreement. That Assurance's procurement efforts helped bring about the policy does not change the premium into a direct benefit under Assurance's agreement.
Your proposed substitution would be far broader than equitable estoppel. Any later payment from a business that had entered an arbitration agreement with an affiliate could then bind the recipient to that agreement, even though the recipient's own transaction contained no arbitration clause. Tuscany's focus on the particular contract prevents that result. The relevant issue is not whether Western received money from SecureTrade, but whether Western seeks to obtain the benefit of the agreement whose arbitration burden it supposedly rejects. It does not.
Western also is not using this suit to claim third-party-beneficiary damages under the Brokerage & Administration Agreement. Its requested compensatory and punitive relief follows from the alleged false policy-related representations and resulting loss. Describing the relief sought as damages does not make it an action to enforce every contract connected with the parties' business.
5. Tuscany's result confirms the distinction
Tuscany ultimately compelled the plaintiffs before it to arbitrate because both signatory and nonsignatory plaintiffs were effectively seeking damages for breach of the same Purchase and Sale Contract containing the arbitration clause. Although some pleadings were complicated, the court found that the plaintiffs asserted breach of that contract, injury from the breach, and an entitlement to damages for it. The nonsignatories could not pursue that contractual recovery while avoiding the corresponding arbitration obligation.
Western has not taken that inconsistent position. It does not seek enforcement or breach damages under the Brokerage & Administration Agreement. Its separate Insurance Policy lacks an arbitration clause, and its complaint pursues fraud concerning obligations and representations in that distinct transaction. Tuscany's actual application therefore supports Western rather than the automatic consolidation of disputes your letter proposes.
Western's refusal does not question Assurance's existing arbitration obligation or ask to reopen the order concerning Assurance. It preserves the distinction between the agreement Assurance signed and the policy Western issued. Parallel proceedings may involve some overlapping evidence or expense, but efficiency alone cannot supply an agreement or establish equitable estoppel where its requirements are absent.
For these reasons, Western declines voluntary arbitration. Should SecureTrade move to compel, Western will oppose the motion on the grounds explained above. Please ensure that any presentation to the court distinguishes the two agreements, Western's nonsignatory status, and the actual direct-benefit rule recognized in Tuscany.
Very truly yours,
Jessie Parker
Rand Spivey LLP
Attorneys for Western Insurance Company